Cucumber and Tomato Salad

6 Aug

New Image

Although we’ve had a lot of cold and rainy days this summer, our apartment tends to overheat rapidly. We learned quickly after moving in that “southern exposure” is a nice way of saying “the sun will beat down on your apartment all day, making it nearly unbearable by sunset.” Yeah, we use the A/C a lot.

I made this salad on one of those nights. The Filthy Fowl loves tomato and cucumber salad, but I wanted to give it a little more flavor. I ended up with this, and although it seems almost silly to post such a simple recipe, it’s too good not to share. Enjoy!

Cucumber and Tomato Salad

from the CityGirl Kitchen

Ingredients:

1 pint grape tomatoes (or a little less), halved
1 cucumber, peeled and diced
juice of 1 lemon, or to taste
1 tablespoon fresh mint, chopped
Salt & pepper

Directions:

Combine tomatoes and cucumber in serving bowl. Squeeze the juice of one lemon over vegetables and toss to coat. Sprinkle with mint, salt and pepper and toss to combine. Taste and adjust seasonings as necessary.

5 Responses to “Cucumber and Tomato Salad”

  1. Jenn August 6, 2009 at 10:46 pm #

    Yum I love simple salads like this!

  2. Brianna & Dustin August 7, 2009 at 7:05 am #

    mmm sounds very summery & refreshing!

  3. megefly August 19, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

    I stumbled across your blog looking for healthy, simple dinner options and found a lot more! You recipes are definitely healthy without being snooty or intimidating and seem designed for me – my finance and I recently moved in together and are learning how to cook more than a grilled cheese of plate of spaghetti or burgers on the grill! I also love your generous use of shrimp, my favorite crustacean.

    Keep up the good work!

  4. Erin M August 25, 2009 at 8:35 pm #

    Rachael — I LOVE your blog. I bookmarked it. I am going to make this tonight. Think it can last a few days? I hope!!

  5. Terry August 28, 2009 at 11:11 pm #

    great blog! Cant figure out how to subscribe to it though. Am I missing a button?

Leave a Reply

