Easy (and Healthy) Shrimp Salad

28 Jul

DSC_0278

When I started this blog, my intent was to post easy, healthy, and affordable recipes. Almost all of the recipes here are easy and affordable, but I feel like lately I’ve posted several not-so-healthy recipes (this and this, while delicious, are not exactly health foods!). But the truth is, the majority of the time, I do cook really healthy meals for myself and the Filthy Fowl. This is so much easier in the summer when I can go the farmer’s market and get beautiful produce like this:

DSC_0296

Summer squash, sauteed with a little olive oil and salt, is one of my favorite side dishes.

This is  a dish born from necessity. It was late, and I opened the refrigerator to see what we had. Lately I’ve been really into the chili/lime combination, and the corn, avocado and tomatoes pair nicely with these flavors. I always have shrimp in the freezer, and adding it made this into a good main dish. You could use it as a side dish too, with or without the shrimp.

Unfortunately I don’t have great measurements for this recipe, so definitely season to taste. And if you have a better name for this, leave me a comment! Enjoy!

Southwestern Shrimp Salad

from the CityGirl kitchen

Ingredients:

1 yellow summer squash, cubed
1/2 pint cherry or grape tomatoes, halved
kernals from 2 ears fresh corn
1/2 lb raw shrimp, shells removed
1/2 avocado, diced
2 tsp chili powder (or mix of chili powder and cumin)
juice of 1 lime
1 tsp olive oil
salt to taste

Directions:

Spray a non-stick pan with cooking spray. Add the summer squash and allow to soften slightly, 2-3 minutes. Add the tomatoes and corn kernals and cook an additional 2-3 minutes. Move the vegetables to the outside of the pan and lay the shrimp in the middle of the skillet. Allow to cook 1-2 minutes per side, until opaque. Be careful not to overcook! Remove from pan to serving dish.

Mix the lime juice, olive oil, chili powder, and salt. Toss with shrimp mixture. Add the avocado and gently mix.

2 Responses to “Easy (and Healthy) Shrimp Salad”

  1. Meg July 29, 2009 at 7:34 pm #

    I’m totally making this over the weekend! We joined a farm co-op and have far too many summer squash on our hands! And green beans – any suggestions for green beans? I thought I’d check with my girl Ina to see if she had any thoughts on green beans as well…

  2. Lisa August 5, 2009 at 8:31 pm #

    This looks like a great summer dinner salad!

Leave a Reply

