Modified Muffaletta

22 Jul

DSC_0292

One thing I’ve learned as I cook more and more is not to be intimidated by a long list of ingredients. Now, lots of steps or long resting times are one thing…that I’m still not really into. But I’ve discovered that if a long list includes a lot of spices or staples, I usually have them (as was the case with the shrimp etouffee). If I don’t have them, or don’t like them all, improvising is a great way to go.

This muffaletta is the perfect example. The Filthy Fowl and I had plans for a dinner picnic in Riverside Park with friends, and I just didn’t know what to bring. I didn’t have a lot of time, and didn’t feel like grabbing bland sandwiches from the deli that would just end up getting soggy. Then I remembered this muffaletta. It’s delicious and just tastes better the longer it sits. I looked at the long list of ingredients and decided I could improvise. I don’t really love lots of sandwich meats, so I scaled back to two, and used two different kinds of cheeses. The olive salad, which called for many ingredients, ended up simply being mixed olives from Zabar’s olive bar.

I’m sure the original version is great. But you know what? My version took literally five minutes to prepare, and was delicious. Go figure.

Modified Muffaletta

adapted from Nola Cuisine

Ingredients

1 10″ round loaf of bread
1/2 lb mixed olives (include some green olives with pimentos, and kalamata)
1 tsp minced garlic (less or none if your olives have garlic)
Handful parsley
1/4 lb Genoa Salami
1/4 lb Ham
1/8 lb Sliced Mozzarella (I used fresh)
1/8 lb Provolone

Directions:

To make the olive salad, combine olives, garlic and parsley in food processor (the mini is perfect for this) and blend until coarse. Or, coarsely chop.

Cut the bread in half length wise.

Layer the meat and cheese on the bread, in any order (I alternate meat and cheese). Top this with the olive salad. Put the lid on and press it down without smashing the bread. Quarter it. Wrap tightly in plastic wrap.

4 Responses to “Modified Muffaletta”

  1. Chris July 23, 2009 at 1:03 am #

    Yum! Muffaletta is my all time favorite sandwich. But the ingredient list usually keeps me away. I’ll have to give this one a try!

  2. Jackie July 23, 2009 at 1:29 am #

    I love, love, love muffaletta! This looks yummy!

  3. Elizabeth F. July 23, 2009 at 8:40 am #

    Muffalettas are my favorite! Yours look great!

  4. Jessica July 23, 2009 at 9:27 am #

    Wow how beautiful! Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

