Easy French Bread

2 Jun
(sorry for the bad picture!)

(sorry for the bad picture!)

When I recently made mussels for dinner, I realized we didn’t have any bread and it was too late to run out for some. Ihappened to come across a recipe for bread in under an hour. I was sold!

I didn’t have incredibly high hopes for this bread, but it was pretty good! I was a little dense, but flavorful. This is a great bread to make in a pinch, and perfect for dunking in sauces or broths.

Enjoy!

French Bread
recipe from Firesign Farm via The Fish Wife Cooks

Ingredients:
1 1/2 C. warm water
1 Tbs. honey
1 1/2 tsp. salt
1 Tbs. (one packet) active dry yeast
3-4 C. flour

Directions:
In a medium bowl, combine water, honey, salt and yeast. Let sit for 10 minutes, until bubbles form.
Add flour, one cup at a time, until dough is no longer sticky. (I used 4 cups)
Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
Spray a cookie sheet with nonstick cooking spray.
Shape dough into a 12″ “loaf” and place on prepared cookie sheet.
Using a razor or sharp knife, cut four 1/2 inch deep slits into dough.
Bake for 20 minutes.

4 Responses to “Easy French Bread”

  1. Molly Jean June 2, 2009 at 10:42 pm #

    Easy indeed! Maybe I won’t screw this one up 🙂

  2. Sadge August 10, 2009 at 10:15 am #

    Wondered why I was getting hits from your site on my blog. Thanks for the acknowledgement. I’m gonna have to try your mergatroid – I’ve got plums to play with this year.
    ~Sadge

  3. Sadge August 14, 2009 at 12:03 pm #

    BTW – Fishwife forgot to say cover the loaf and let it rise for 20 minutes before slashing the top and putting it into the oven. Basically, it’s 20 minutes to mix it up, 20 minutes rising time, and 20 minutes in the oven.
    ~Sadge

    • citygirlcooks August 15, 2009 at 3:23 am #

      Oh, that’s an important step! I’ll have to try it again and let it rise. I’ll post an update when I do…thanks!

Leave a Reply

