Warm Butternut Squash & Chickpea Salad

22 Apr

dsc_0106

Shhh…if you’re reading this, don’t tell the Filthy Fowl. I’m supposed to be packing.

Yes, we are 4 days away from The Move. We are leaving our balcony, our full-size, brand new stainless steel appliances, my 30 minute commute, and one of the prettiest neighborhoods in New York City. We’re getting no outdoor space, 3/4 size stove & oven, half the counter space, and a longer commute for me. And we couldn’t be happier.

Turns out I’m just not a Brooklyn girl. Maybe I’m not hip enough. Maybe I have an unnatural affinity for Fairway or running around the Central Park Reservoir. I don’t know, but I’m okay with it.

What I’m not okay with is the massive undertaking that is packing. The Filthy Fowl and I are trying to empty out our cabinets as much as possible so we don’t have to lug a butternut squash or half a container of tahini from Brooklyn to the Upper West Side. When thinking of things to make, I remembered this incredible salad from Smitten Kitchen that I’ve made before. I actually have ALL of the ingredients!

I was a little skeptical the first time I made this, but it’s delicious. I was SURE the Filthy Fowl wouldn’t like it…and he didn’t…he loved it. So I’m making it tonight, if I can find my kitchen counter under the mess we’ve created while packing. Enjoy!

Warm Butternut Squash and Chickpea Salad
from Smitten Kitchen (who adapted it from Orangette and Casa Moro)

For salad:
1 medium butternut squash (about 2 to 2 1/2 pounds), peeled, seeded, and cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces
1 medium garlic clove, minced or pressed
1/2 teaspoons ground allspice (I skip this)
2 tablespoons olive oil
Salt
One 15-ounce can chickpeas, drained and rinsed (1 1/2 cups)
1/4 of a medium red onion, finely chopped
1/4 cup coarsely chopped fresh cilantro or parsley

For tahini dressing:
1 medium garlic clove, finely minced with a pinch of salt
1/4 cup lemon juice
3 tablespoons well-stirred tahini
2 tablespoons water
2 tablespoons olive oil, plus more to taste

Preheat the oven to 425°F.

In a large bowl, combine the butternut squash, garlic, allspice, olive oil, and a few pinches of salt.  Toss the squash pieces until evenly coated. (I do this on the baking sheet – why get another bowl dirty?) Roast them on a baking sheet for 25 minutes, or until soft. Remove from the oven and cool.

Meanwhile, make the tahini dressing: In a small bowl, whisk together the garlic and lemon juice. Add the tahini, and whisk to blend. Add the water and olive oil, whisk well, and taste for seasoning. The sauce should have plenty of nutty tahini flavor, but also a little kick of lemon. You will probably need to add more water to thin it out.

To assemble the salad, combine the squash, chickpeas, onion, and cilantro or parsley in a mixing bowl. Either add the tahini dressing to taste, and toss carefully, or you could serve the salad with the dressing on the side. Serve immediately.

6 Responses to “Warm Butternut Squash & Chickpea Salad”

  1. bridget April 22, 2009 at 5:22 am #

    Oh, I’ve made this before and really liked it too.

    Packing, though…it’s the worst. Best of luck to you with that.

  2. brannyboilsover April 22, 2009 at 5:33 am #

    have fun with the move!
    I cannot wait to make this recipe. Now I must break down and buy tahini. I’ve never bought it before (so I’ve shyed away from hummus recipes).

  3. yellowfish April 22, 2009 at 10:55 am #

    Oh, I love squash, chickpeas, and tahini… I’ve got to try it!

  4. joelen April 22, 2009 at 8:01 pm #

    This looks delicious and so colorful!

  5. abigail Simon April 27, 2009 at 11:55 pm #

    Rachael, Dear

    when are you going to put my guest blog up??

    love,
    your lil lil A

  6. Anna June 12, 2009 at 5:28 am #

    This looks so yum right now! I’m totally going to get my fiance to make this for me 😉 haha thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

