A Simple Supper

28 Mar

There’s a fish market in my hometown that sells the most amazing spice mixture. My family was obsessed with it, and now they’re kind of over it. I came to the party late, however, so I still use it all the time. This is one of my favorite things to use it on.

This is another meal that I make for myself when the Filthy Fowl is out. I’m sure he would like it, but for some reason I often choose to make it when I’m debating between ordering take-out and making something light, and that’s usually when he’s out.

This isn’t really a recipe so much as throwing a few things in a frying pan. But I love it, and highly recommend it on a night when you only have a few minutes to throw something together. I usually serve it with regular or Israeli couscous, but I bet it would also be good with quinoa or even pasta.

I’m sure I was inspired by some recipe, but I’ve been making this for so long that I’m really not sure!

blog-pics-129

Shrimp with Tomato and Basil

by me – measurements are very much estimates!

1-2 cloves garlic, minced (to taste)
1-2 tsp olive oil
handful of grape or cherry tomatoes
1 lb shrimp (or enough for however many people you’re serving)
fresh basil
juice of one lemon
lemon zest, optional
salt & pepper
any seasoning you like (mine is a Greek blend that has salt, pepper, garlic, oregano, parsley, and “spices”)

Heat the oil in a non-stick skillet. Add the garlic and let it cook for 1-2 minutes. Add the tomatoes and cook until soft, but still keep their shape. Add the shrimp and cook 1-2 minutes on each side. Do not overcook.

When shrimp is almost done, add the lemon juice, basil, and any spices.

Serve over hot couscous or any other grain.

Leave a Reply

