Lighter Sesame Chicken

9 Mar

The Filthy Fowl and I have a special relationship with sesame chicken and steamed vegetable dumplings. They probably play a role in the fact that we’re now married.

It started in the fall of 2004. We had been dating about a year and I knew it was serious since the Filthy Fowl wanted to watch the Red Sox in the playoffs WITH ME. I’d like to think he was just so in love with me that he wanted to share the experience with me, but I think it also had a little to do with the fact that the one game we didn’t watch together, the Red Sox lost by about 20 runs.

We planned to watch the first game together at my apartment on the Upper West Side. I lived across from a semi-skeevy Chinese place, but the Filthy Fowl wanted to order from there and although I don’t really like Chinese food, I didn’t object; after all, he was sharing this experience with me and I wanted it to be perfect. He ordered sesame chicken and I ordered steamed vegetable dumplings.

Happily, the Red Sox won. So of course for the next game, we had to watch at my apartment and we had to order sesame chicken and steamed vegetable dumplings. As most of you know, the Red Sox kept on winning. And we ate sesame chicken and steamed vegetable dumplings during every.single.game.

I’ll never forget the sheer joy we felt when the Red Sox finally won the World Series, but I’ll forever associate it with these two foods that we ate to our saturation point.

When I saw this recipe, I knew the Filthy Fowl would like it, and it even looked like something I’d like. I was right – we both really enjoyed this. I supplemented the meal with some frozen vegetable dumplings from this great authentic dumpling house in Chinatown. I highly recommend this – it’s not at all heavy and has a great flavor.
blog-pics-094

Lighter Sesame Chicken

adapted slightly from Jenn and Food, Perfect Together and …and a cookie for dessert

Ingredients

1 bag of brown rice (like Success Brown Rice)
3 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons sesame seeds (I used black sesame seeds)
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 garlic clove, finely chopped or crushed with a garlic press
2 large egg whites
1/4 cup cornstarch
1 1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breast halves, cut into 2-inch chunks
Coarse salt and ground pepper
2 tablespoons vegetable oil, such as safflower(I used cooking spray)
4 scallions, thinly sliced (omitted because I didn’t have)
Several handfuls snow peas, sliced in half (original recipe used broccoli)

Directions

In a small bowl, combine honey, sesame seeds, soy sauce, and garlic; set aside. In a large bowl, whisk together egg whites and cornstarch. Add chicken; season with salt and pepper, and toss to coat.

In a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray, heat the pan over medium-high. Add half the chicken; cook, turning occasionally, until golden and opaque throughout, 6 to 8 minutes. Transfer to a plate; repeat with remaining tablespoon oil and chicken. Return all the chicken to skillet; add reserved sauce and scallions, and toss to coat.

As the rice cooks, place the snow peas in a steamer basket over the boiling water and steam to desired tenderness. Add the steamed snow peas to the chicken and sauce and mix.

Serve sesame chicken over the rice and enjoy.

blog-pics-093

3 Responses to “Lighter Sesame Chicken”

  1. gaga March 10, 2009 at 10:50 pm #

    I love sesame chicken, I’m definitely going to have to give this a try. Thanks!

  2. Alexis March 24, 2009 at 9:38 am #

    double-yum!

  3. Ashley May 24, 2010 at 7:39 am #

    Just cooked this and it was absolutely delicious!

Leave a Reply

