Shrimp Etouffee

27 Jan

The Filthy Fowl and I have both been sick, and haven’t been on a good eating schedule. We had no appetite Saturday, and then around 9:30 pm decided we HAD to have Thai noodles. It’s been one of those weekends.

Because I was sick, I planned to spend a good amount of time watching our brand new TV. Now, I’m sure many of you can relate to the fact that besides some of my cheesy teen dramas, the majority of my TV time is spent on The Food Network and TLC. I was excited to see how the cooking shows would look in HD and if Stacy London’s streak of grey hair would be any less annoying (although I love the show and Stacy, if you’re reading, plllllease hook me up!). However, when we switched to the new HD box, we had NO Food Network OR TLC!

The cable people came Saturday afternoon and fixed it, but now the cable box has completely stopped working and the Filthy Fowl has to wait around tomorrow between the convenient hours of 10 and 2 for the geniuses at Time Warner to once again visit our apartment.

Anyway…that’s a long way of telling you that during the 20ish hours that we DID have cable, I saw this recipe for Shrimp Etouffee on Paula’s Party. This is something I would never think of making, but for some reason it sounded really good for tonight, and I had most of the ingredients on hand.

Because Paula is Paula, and I am me, I made some adjustments to the recipe to make it a little more figure-friendly. Where Paula used oil, I used chicken stock. Where Paula used a half stick of butter, I used one tablespoon. I’m not sure what the difference in taste is, but mine was pretty darn good and I don’t think we missed all that extra fat and calories. I think overall this is pretty healthy, and I served it over brown rice to up the fiber content and soak up all of the sauce.

A warning: I read and saw on the show that this is extremely spicy. We like spicy, but I got a little nervous so I left out the hot sauce and figured I could add it later. Well, this certainly didn’t need any more spiciness. It was pretty spicy, and I have a high tolerance. So if you have any doubt, leave out the hot sauce and decrease the cayenne. You can always add it in later, but you can’t take it out.

There are a lot of ingredients, but most are basics. Enjoy!

Shrimp Etouffee

Adapted from Paula’s Party (my camera is out of battery so see a picture here!)

Serves 6-8

Ingredients

  • 1 cup chicken stock, plus more as necessary
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour, plus extra flour, optional
  • 1 cup chopped yellow onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon white pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper, more if desired
  • 1 teaspoon Cajun seasoning
  • 1/2 cup minced green onions, plus extra for garnish
  • 1/2 cup minced fresh parsley leaves
  • 2 to 3 dashes hot sauce (optional)
  • 1 (8-ounce) can clam juice
  • 1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • Salt (Cajun seasoning has salt already)
  • 2 pounds small or medium shrimp peeled and deveined (recommended: (31/35 size count)
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • Rice, optional
  • Diced green onions, for garnish

Directions

Make the roux, mix chicken broth and flour in a large heavy saucepan over low heat. Whisk flour into the broth to form a paste. Add more broth as necessary. Continue cooking over low heat and whisk continuously, until the mixture turns a caramel color and gives off a nutty aroma, about 15 to 20 minutes.

To the roux, add the onion, green pepper, celery, and garlic and cook over low heat about 5 minutes, until the vegetables are limp. Add the black pepper, white pepper, cayenne pepper, Cajun seasoning, green onions, parsley, and hot sauce to taste.

Add 1 can clam juice and the tomatoes with their juice, stir to blend. Add the salt, starting with 1 teaspoon, then add more if needed. Bring the mixture to a boil, reduce the heat to low and simmer for 10 to 15 minutes.

Add shrimp and stir. It will take about 3 minutes for shrimp to cook, don’t overcook. Remove from heat. Add the butter and stir; the heat from the dish will melt the butter. Transfer the etouffee to a tureen, serving bowl, or if you prefer, over rice. Garnish with the green onions.

One Response to “Shrimp Etouffee”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Modified Muffaletta « The City Girl Cooks - July 22, 2009

    […] if a long list includes a lot of spices or staples, I usually have them (as was the case with the shrimp etouffee). If I don’t have them, or don’t like them all, improvising is a great way to […]

Leave a Reply

