Panko-Crusted Fish Sticks

10 Jan

Fish sticks? Really? I was never a big fan of those frozen fish sticks – I don’t think my mom really served them – but when I saw this recipe on Cooking This and That, I was intrigued. These aren’t really fish sticks – they’re panko-crusted tilapia. I’ve been wanting to try panko for a while, because I recently made something with breadcrumbs and it just didn’t have the crispiness that I like. Also, the Filthy Fowl and I went to Maryland a few years ago and were inspired to buy some Old Bay Seasoning – but haven’t been inspired to use it yet.

So I made these Panko-Crusted Tilapia with Herbed Dipping Sauce. It was really good and I served it with roasted baby red potatoes and roasted green beans. Yum.

Filthy Fowl got really into taking pictures, but the pictures still don’t do it justice. Hopefully with some practice we can make the food look a little more appetizing. As a side note, after the “official” pictures, Filthy Fowl arranged the potatoes, fish, and green beans into a smiley face. He forgets to take pictures at oh, say, any of our wedding events or trips, but fish-based smiley faces, he’s all about.

Finished product

Looking good...

(As another side note, I’m not entirely sold on calling him Filthy Fowl in a cooking blog, but he likes it. Go figure).

Here’s the recipe…(and more photos below)

Roasted Potatoes & Green Beans: This is simple and standard. I just tossed whole baby red potatoes with a little bit of olive oil, salt and pepper and roasted at 400 degrees. After about 20 minutes, I added the green beans to the same pan (also tossed with olive oil, salt, and pepper). This is a great space saver in the oven and for clean-up as well.

Panko-Crusted Fish Sticks with Herb Dipping Sauce
from Everyday Food via Cooking This and That (and thanks for my first blog comment, Colleen!)
Makes about 3 servings

1 large egg
coarse salt and ground pepper
2 cups panko
1 tablespoon Old Bay Seasoning
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 pound tilapia fillets

Sauce:
(I very much estimated on these. I hardly used any mayo.)
1/2 cup light mayonnaise
1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice, plus lemon wedges for serving
2 teaspoons prepared white horseradish

Preheat oven to 475 degrees F, with racks in the middle of the oven. Line a baking sheet with non-stick aluminum foil.

Cut tilapia filets in half lengthwise, and then again the other direction. You now have 4 sticks per fillet.

Crack egg into shallow bowl, lightly beat with fork. Season with salt and pepper. In another shallow bowl, combine panko, Old Bay, and olive oil.

Dip each tilapia stick into egg, shaking off the excess; then into panko mixture, pressing mixture so that it sticks.

Place on prepared baking sheet and bake 12-15 minutes, until panko is lightly browned and fish is cooked through.

Meanwhile, mix all sauce ingredients in small bowl. Season with salt and pepper and serve alongside fish sticks.

Here's a shot with the dipping sauce.

Here's a shot with the dipping sauce.

Aforementioned photo from the Filthy Fowl...

Aforementioned photo from the Filthy Fowl...

One Response to “Panko-Crusted Fish Sticks”

  1. fingers80 January 11, 2009 at 1:23 am #

    Great idea! I don’t mind fish sticks….except that the frozen ones are so bad for you and confusing as far as ingredients. I will have to try these!
    Side comment: I am sitting here laughing about your happy face photo because that’s something my husband would totally do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

