I have a blog!

9 Jan

So, after many years of watching my then-boyfriend, now husband, Filthy Fowl post on his blog, I’ve decided to start one of my own. Unlike his, mine will not be focusing on the misadventures of a Bostonian living in New York City (although I am one),  nor will it include any references to body parts, boxing, or washed-up wrestlers. Sorry.

For years, we lived in a tiny apartment with the smallest kitchen known to man. Now we’ve moved, and although the apartment isn’t giant, the kitchen feels palatial (it’s not). Being recently married, we have lots of new kitchen tools and gadgets, and I’ve been trying to be more creative in the kitchen and less reliant on take-out. So, this blog will highlight good (and probably some bad) recipes that are easy to prepare after working all day, are (relatively) healthy, and are  budget-friendly (being a social worker, this last one is particularly important right now).

I’ll start with something very basic, since I don’t have any pictures to show you. It comes from Rachael Ray’s 30 Minute Meals 2. She calls it The Best Basic Risotto, and it’s pretty good. I halved it since Filthy Fowl and I were only having as a side dish with simple pork chops and a salad. However, it was a little TOO basic, so I added a big wow factor – truffle oil! Now, I know I said this would be budget friendly, but here’s the thing. Truffle oil is kind of expensive. It’s a splurge. HOWEVER. You only use a tiny bit at a time, so it goes a looong way. If you break it down by the number of  servings in that little bottle, it’s actually very reasonable. Okay, I’m done justifying. Here’s the recipe.

The Best Basic Risotto

from Rachael Ray 30 Minute Meals 2
Serves 4. When I halved it, I still had to use about 3 cups of chicken stock

4 cups chicken or vegetable broth
2 tablespoons butter (I used less)
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil (I refuse to call this EVOO)
1 small to medium onion, chopped
1 1/2 cups arborio rice
1/2 cup dry white wine
1/2 cup grated Parmigiano Reggiano cheese
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
A few drops black truffle oil

Place chicken or vegetable broth in a saucepan and simmer.

In a deep skillet, melt butter into olive oil over medium to medium high heat. Add onions and saute, 3 minutes. Then add arborio and saute, 2 minutes more. Add wine and let it cook away, 1 or 2 minutes. Add broth a few ladles at a time over the next 18 minutes, stirring it into the rice each time the liquid has been fully absorbed. Stir in the cheese and season with salt and pepper to taste.

I added a few drops of truffle oil once it was on my plate, since Filthy Fowl didn’t want any. He ended up tasting mine and liking it, though.

2 Responses to “I have a blog!”

  1. colleen January 9, 2009 at 8:43 pm #

    This looks great! I love the fresh, clean layout! Can’t wait to see what’s in store! (starcolls)

  2. frankie schulman January 27, 2009 at 8:12 am #

    /rachael dear. We just heard about your job.Quite exciting,Congratulations.

    Your recipes sound great.But what do you do with3 crock pots?

    Had a lovely brunch for Melissa’s birthday. The house looks wonderful.

    Papaa sends his love as do I. Grandma

Leave a Reply

