Blondies

3 Mar

A few days ago on the morning news (if you can call the morning shows “news”) the Filthy Fowl and I saw someone who said that this week and next week are the two weeks out of the year when people gain the most weight. As I said to him at the time, MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!

Not helping my cause was this recipe for blondies that I stumbled upon when looking to make a dessert for the Super Bowl (yes, I realize this was a while ago, but see my last post. I’ve got a back-log).

One thing I love about blondies is that you can throw in any sweet treats you have on hand. I had chocolate chips and coconut, so that’s what I used and the result was delicious. You could also use any sort of nuts, toffee, peanut butter/butterscotch/white chocolate chips, etc. You get the idea.

I suppose the good thing is that these are now gone, so maybe, just maybe, I can avoid being part of that gruesome statistic we saw this morning!

blondies

Chocolate Chip Coconut Blondies

Inspired by Cook Like A Champion who adapted from Baking Blonde (see all the variations?)

Ingredients:

6-7 tablespoons butter, melted
1 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder (optional, creates lighter blondie texture)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350.
-Line an 8×8 pan with foil and lightly spray with PAM.
-In a large microwave safe mixing bowl melt the butter.
-Allow to cool for 5 minutes.
-Mix the brown sugar with the melted butter and beat until smooth.
-Beat in egg and then vanilla.
-Add salt, stir in flour and baking powder (if using).
-Mix in any additions
-Pour into prepared pan and use a greased spatula to evenly spread mixture in pan and level the top.
-Bake for 20-25 minutes or until set in the middle.
-Cool on rack before cutting.
blog-pics-121

One Response to “Blondies”

  1. bakingblonde March 3, 2009 at 9:51 am #

    OMG those look sinful! I love how gooey they look, great pictures.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

